Membership requirements

“All federal, state, local, tribal, private sector and non-governmental personnel with a direct role in emergency management and response or recovery must be NIMS and ICS trained. This includes all emergency services related disciplines such as EMS, hospitals, public health, fire service, law enforcement, public works/utilities, skilled support personnel, and other emergency management response, support and volunteer personnel.” [source]

What does that mean? The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), and the State of Florida, require response personnel, including volunteers, to have specific courses of  NIMS and ICS training.

Minimum Training Requirements

Level 1 SRQARES Member

  • To be completed in first 90 days of new membership
  • Level 1 members are only deployable as “assistants” to multi-member team deployments or net control stations
  • SRQARES Orientation Course (local requirement)

Level 2 SRQARES Members

Level 3 SRQARES Members

Lake County Mutual Aid Deployable:

Additional Training

Members may be interested in taking additional FEMA classes, or CERT training. NIMS/ICS classes can be taken on-line at no cost. Sarasota County also offers some instructor led NIMS/ICS classes locally to members at no cost.